About Us

Richmond Jets Minor Hockey Association Scholarship Program

The Richmond International Bantam Midget Tournament has a long history of funding scholarships and bursaries for our graduating Midget (and first-year Juvenile) players and coaches. We hope that each of our 2001 and 2000-born players will apply for a Richmond Jets Minor Hockey Association scholarship early in 2019.  This very generous program is funded by the proceeds of the Richmond International Bantam Midget Tournament. For the past three seasons, the average value per bursary/scholarship exceeded $850 per applicant.  It is our objective to continue to enhance and grow the tournament and the scholarships as part of our Bantam / Midget Rep program.

RIBMHT Thank you 6
RIBMHT Thank yo
RIBMHT Thank you 6

RIBMHT History

The first annual Richmond Midget Hockey Tournament was held Jan. 1-4, 1981 and took place at both the Richmond and Seafair Arenas.  The ten team tournament included Richmond, Seafair, 2 teams from NSWC, Nanaimo, Burnaby Minor, Saanich, Calgary, Abbotsford and Arbutus Club.

Former Richmond Minor President, Don Lindsay was the guiding force behind the formation of the tournament and was the first Tournament Director.  We wanted to provide an opportunity both for our kids and those from other Associations to be part of a competitive tournament.  The tournament quickly grew as its reputation became well established.  With the entry of the Northern California All-Stars in 1983, the tournament became international for the first time.  In 1992, the tournament was expanded to include Midget AAA teams.

Elite Major Midget

2009 Moose Jaw AAA Warriors
2010 Wenatchee Wild
2011 Moose Jaw Generals
2012 Arizona Bobcats U16AAA
2013 Yale Academy
2014 OHA Prep Red U18
2015 Prince George Midget Tier 1 Cougars
2016 Everett Jr Silvertips U16AAA
2017 Team Hungary U16
2018 No Tier

Midget AAA / Tier 1 Champions

1992 Richmond
1993 Victoria
1994 Chilliwack
1995 Chilliwack
1996 Prince Albert
1997 Edmonton MLAC
1998 Tisdale, Saskatchewan
1999 Regina Canadians
2000 Kelowna
2001 Coquitlam
2002 Kelowna
2003 North Vancouver

2009 Seafair Islanders A1
2010 Rocky Mountain Roughriders
2011 Richmond Blues A1
2012 Kelowna Rockets A1
2013 Semiahmoo Midget Ravens A1
2014 Kamloops Lions
2015 NSWC Elite A1

2016 South Delta Midget A1
2017 Chilliwack Midget A1
2018 Sno Kings U16 T1

Midget A / B / Tier 2 Champions

Jan 1981  NSWC Whites
Dec 1981  100 Mile House
1982 NSWC White
1983 Abbotsford
1984 NSWC
1985 Burnaby Minor
1986 North Vancouver
1987 Kamloops
1988 Burnaby Minor
1989 no tournament
1990 Victoria Racquet Club
1991 Chilliwack
1992 Langley

1993 Abbotsford
1994 Richmond
1995 Alaska All Stars
1996 Richmond B1
1997 Anchorage North Stars
1998 T1: Victoria, T2: Alaska Bulldogs
1999 Seattle Snokings
2000 Alaska Allstars
2001 Alaska Allstars
2002 Arctic Lions
2003 Alaska Blue Devils

2009 Kerry Park Islanders
2010 Kelowna Jr Rockets
2011 California Wave U16AA
2012 Ridge Meadow Rustlers A2
2013 Saanich Midget Braves
2014 Saanich Midget Braves
2015 Semiahmoo – Midget 15s
2016 Burnaby Winter Club A1
2017 Peninsula Eagles Midget T2
2018 Arizona Jr Sun Devils U18

Midget Tier 3 Champions

2012 Roseville Capital Thunder U16AA
2017 No Tier
2018 New Westminster Midget A1

Bantam Tier 1 Champions

2013 Nanaimo Clippers A1
2014 Nanaimo Clippers A1
2015 Golden State Bantam AAA
2016 Vancouver Tbirds Bantam A1
2017 Delta Hockey Academy Varsity
2018 No Tier

Bantam Tier 2 Champions

2013 Cloverdale Bantam Colts A2
2014 Seafair Islanders Bantam A2
2015 Alaska Oilers – Bantam Tier 2 AA
2016 Portland Jr Winterhawks Bantam AAA
2017 Cowichan Valley Bantam A2
2018 Richmond Jets Bantam A2

Bantam Tier 3 Champions

2016 Cloverdale Bantam A2
2017 No Tier
2018 North Delta Bantam A2